This Is A Prayer for Everybody In the World…

I am about to get ready for opening night at the World Sacred Music Festival in Fes, and got some wireless going in my riad and just learned that Geronimo Pratt died yesterday in Tanzania.  While getting ready to leave the US, I also was so saddened to hear my dear dear Gil Scott Heron passed last week too…my goodness, both men died in their early 60s…such different lives and lifestyles sure, such a great loss.  I’ll write more on the fest soon, but the song that’s blowing thru my mind is from my fav Gil Scott and Brian Jackson LP Secrets

this is a prayer for everybody in the world…

cause without you and without me,

without love and harmony,

without courage and dignity

what would it mean to be free?

Ahh, blessings to you both for all you did for our freedom, may we stand in love and harmony across the globe, from Angola, Louisiana to Tanzania to Oakland to Morocco in courage and dignity to honor your love and work.

Leave a comment